X-Men capture AUS cross country banner

X-Men capture AUS cross country banner

Halifax, NS – The StFX X-Men raced to an AUS banner Saturday afternoon at the Subway AUS Cross Country Championships hosted by Dalhousie University at Point Pleasant Park.

In the 10km race, the X-Men claimed team gold with 38 points. Last season, the Dalhousie Tigers snapped StFX's six-year win streak to claim their first men's cross country title since 2010. This year's title was the 10th in team history for the X-Men.

At this year's championship, X-Men made up three of the top four finishers.

Angus Rawling (Calgary, Alta.) from the StFX X-Men captured his second consecutive AUS championship gold medal with a time of 31:33.23.

StFX senior Alex Neuffer (Stratford, P.E.I.) claimed individual bronze with a time of 32:24.29 and Paul MacLellan (Antigonish, N.S.) from the X-Men claimed fourth with a time of 32:47.91.

Second-year Saint Mary's runner Andrew Peverill (Sackville, N.S.) was the men's silver medallist, finishing in 31:53.89.

The defending championship and host Tigers team followed closely behind the X-Men with 46 points to claim team silver. The UNB Reds earned team bronze with 79 points. The Saint Mary's Huskies earned a fourth-place team finish with 100 points, followed closely by Memorial with 107. The UPEI Panthers claimed sixth with 154 team points, and the Moncton Aigles Bleus finished seventh with 188.

Completing the individual finishes for the X-Men were Addison Derhak (Waterloo, ON) in 14th place with a time of 33:37.32, Aidan Doherty (Vancouver, BC) in 16th at 34:08.58, Patrick Marlow (Antigonish, NS) in 29th at 35:07.00, and Luc Galant (Wellington, PE) in 32nd spot at 35:47.34. There were 50 total AUS competitors in the championship.

Subway AUS Cross Country Championship Results:

Following the race, participants attended an awards luncheon at the Four Points by Sheraton in Halifax. AUS all-star awards were presented to the top seven finishers, and individual medals, team medals and the AUS championship banners and trophies were handed out.

The AUS male athlete of the year was awarded to the individual AUS champion Angus Rawling (Calgary, Alta.) from the StFX X-Men. The winner of the AUS male rookie of the year was Bryan Smith (Hampshire, United Kingdom) of the Dalhousie Tigers who finished eighth overall.

Dalhousie's Angus MacIntosh (Riverview, N.B.) was honoured as the AUS Student-Athlete Community Service award winner, and in his first season at the helm of the X-Men program, Eric Gillis was named the AUS men's cross country coach of the year.

AUS all-star awards were presented to the top seven finishers in the race including the following.

Angus Rawling, StFX (4th year – Calgary, Alta.)
Andrew Peverill, Saint Mary's (2nd year – Lower Sackville, N.S.)
Alex Neuffer, StFX (5th year – Stratford, P.E.I.)
Paul MacLellan, StFX (4th year – Antigonish, N.S.)
Michael Colford, UNB (3rd year – New Maryland, N.B.)
James Cromack, Dalhousie (2nd year – Caledon, Ont.)
Isaac Cull, UNB (2nd year – Pubnico, N.S.)

The U SPORTS national championship meet will take place Saturday, Nov. 10 at Queen's University in Kingston, Ont. 


The AUS women's cross country recap can be found by CLICKING HERE