2010 CIS National Champions

2010 CIS National Champions


The StFX University X-Women rugby team won their second CIS national championship with an exciting 17-12 overtime victory over the Concordia Stingers in the close 2010 championship game played at Peterborough, ON. Previous to the 2010 national final, the 13-time defending AUS champion X-Women were two-time CIS silver medalists, having fallen to the Lethbridge Pronghorns in the national final in both 2009 and 2008. In 2010 CIS round robin play, the X-Women earned a 37-0 victory over the host Trent Excalibur and a thrilling 18-17 victory over the Guelph Gryphons on the last play of the game with no time left on the game clock. StFX has appeared in 13 consecutive CIS championships as they are the only team in the Atlantic conference to win the AUS title since the inception of the AUS women’s rugby league. This year they defeated the Acadia Axewomen 57-0 in the AUS championship game and won the Birks Memorial Trophy at home at StFX Oland Stadium.

The X-Women sported a perfect 6-0 record in league play to finish first overall in the AUS conference, scoring 406 points for (their second highest single season tally) and allowing only 6 points against. The X-Women set a new AUS record this season for most tries scored in a single season with 68, bettering their own mark of 65 scored in 2008. They also set an AUS record for the most points scored in a game when they posted a lopsided 105-0 victory over Saint Mary’s on Oct. 6th. In exhibition non-conference play this season in the United States, the X-Women sported wins over the Providence Rugby Club (5-7), Brown University (44-7) and Norwich University (43-0).

The X-Women were led this year by seven AUS all-stars, including CIS All Canadian and AUS Most Valuable Player Tyson Beukeboom in the #8 position. Although only a second year player, Beukeboom has matured into a great on-field leader in both offensive and defensive situations. She was a 2009 CIS tournament all-star. Third year prop Asya Bartley, a 2010 CIS All Canadian, three-time CIS tournament all-star and two-time AUS all-star, was second overall in AUS scoring with 45 points. She is a silent leader on the field and is a threat to score every time she touches the ball. Bartley scored the winning try over Guelph in CIS pool play on the final play of the game to launch the X-Women into the championship game.

The X-Women were joined this season by fullback Magali Harvey who won AUS Rookie of the Year honors and was named a CIS All Canadian. In her first year of competition she led the conference in scoring with 86 points (12 trys and 13 conversions). Harvey played a strong CIS championship for StFX and was named championship MVP and a tournament all-star for her efforts. Rounding out the AUS all-stars were CIS and AUS Student-Athlete Community Service award winner Jamee George, Beth MacNeil, co-captain Julie Emmerson and Jessica Jacobs. CIS tournament all star Amanda Thornborough and fifth year veteran co-captain Courtnay Malcolm also had strong performances for the X-Women this season.

The X-Women are guided by head coach Mike Cavanagh (12th season), a five-time AUS Coach of the Year and the 2001 CIS Coach of the Year. His X-Women allowed only six points scored against them in regular season play this season. Since 2002, Cavanagh's career record stands at 49-1-2 in regular season play and 68-16-5 overall (regular season, AUS & CIS playoffs). The X-Women were ranked No. 3 in the CIS Top 10 in every week for all eight consecutive weeks.

Following the 2010 CIS championship, the X-Women currently have a championship record of 18-25-3 in 46 games played with two gold medals (2010, 2006), two silver medals (2009, 2008), four 4th place finishes, four 5th place finishes and one 6th place finish.

Championship Record:  3 wins and 0 losses
Round Robin: Defeated Trent 37-0 and Guelph 18-17
Gold Medal Game: Defeated Concordia 17-12 OT

CIS All Canadians:  Asya Bartley, Tyson Beukeboom, Magali Harvey
CIS Student-Athlete Community Service Award:  Jamee George
CIS Championship MVP:  Magali Harvey
CIS Tournament All Stars:  Asya Bartley, Magali Harvey, Amanda Thornborough
AUS Rookie of the Year:  Magali Harvey
AUS Most Valuable Player:  Tyson Beukeboom
AUS Student-Athlete Community Service Award:  Jamee George
AUS All-Stars:  Asya Bartley, Tyson Beukeboom, Julie Emmerson, Jamee George, Magali Harvey, Jessica Jacobs and Beth MacNeil

AUS Regular Season Record:  6 wins, 0 losses
AUS Regular Season Standing:  1st place, 12 points
AUS Playoff Record:  1 win and 0 losses
Defeated Acadia 57-0 in AUS final