X-Women place second overall at AUS championship

Photo credit Normand Leger
Photo credit Normand Leger

Moncton, NB – The StFX X-Women placed second overall at the Subway AUS Championship this weekend.

The Dalhousie Tigers claimed the AUS banner, earning 121 points over the two-day event. The X-Women had 109 points, followed by UNB and Moncton who each tallied 60 points in third place.

StFX garnered 14 medals in total – four gold, six silver and five bronze.



The blue and white squad was led by veteran fifth year sprinter Allie Flower (Lunenburg, NS) and second year runner Jane Hergett (Port Williams, NS) who each earned individual gold and silver medals.

Flower repeated as AUS champion in the 300m, clocking in with a time of 40.73. She also had a silver medal in the 600m event, finishing at 1:35.50.

Hergett was the AUS champion in the 600m, finishing just ahead of her teammate Flower at 1:35.30. She took home the silver medal in the 1000m with a time of 2:59.93.

Both Hergett and Flower were members of the X-Women 4x400m relay team that claimed AUS gold. They bested the field of seven teams to win first place with a time of 4:02.84. Samantha Taylor (Canterbury, NB) and Catherine Kennedy (Antigonish, NS) joined them in the gold medal run.

The relay team of Taylor, Megan Graham (Trenton, NS), Kennedy and Flower were champions in the 4x200m race. Their time of 1:45.72 was tops out of six teams.

Kennedy also picked up a bronze medal in the pole vault event in her first time competing at the conference level in that discipline. She jumped to a 2.40m result which set a StFX record in the event.

Graham was the AUS silver medalist in the 60m hurdles, as she clocked in at 9.27 to earn a podium spot.

Hana Marmura (Antigonish, NS) won AUS silver in a close 1500m race. She finished at 4:36.47. In the women's 3000m event, X-Women athletes took home both silver and bronze. Zoe Johnston (Pembroke, ON) and Rachel MacDougall (Antigonish, NS) crossed the line together with Johnston winning silver (10:25.49) and MacDougall bronze (10:25.53).

Freshman athlete Olivia Crewe (Ottawa, ON) entered into the grueling pentathlon and she came away with a bronze medal performance, garnering 2594 points in the event that featured the 60m dash, high jump, shot put, long jump and 800m.

Lani Deakin (Dubai, UAE) claimed bronze for StFX in the high jump, as she finished with a 1.56m result. The mark tied the StFX record set by Rebecca Bell in 2010.

Rounding out the X-Women medals was the 4x800m relay team of Johnston, Marmura, Hergett and Aidan MacDonald (Antigonish, NS). They won silver with a time of 9:35.17 behind Dalhousie.

The AUS major award winners announced following the championship included the following:

Male AUS Championship MVP:  Matt Coolen, Dalhousie
Female AUS Championship MVP:  Savanna Jordan, Dalhousie
Male AUS Field Athlete of the Year:  Jean-Luc Bastarache, Moncton
Female AUS Field Athlete of the Year:  Lexie Shannon, UNB
Male AUS Track Athlete of the Year:  Matt Coolen, Dalhousie
Female AUS Track Athlete of the Year:  Bailey Smith, UPEI
Male AUS Rookie of the Year: Eric Hughes, UNB
Female AUS Rookie of the Year:  Erin McCavour, UNB
Male AUS Student-Athlete Community Service Award:  Jonathan Peverill, Saint Mary's
Female AUS Student-Athlete Community Service Award:  Bhreagh Burke, Saint Mary's
Men's AUS Coach of the Year:  Chris Belof, UNB
Women's AUS Coach of the Year:  Rich Lehman, Dalhousie
Men's Volunteer Coach of the Year:  Mike Bawol, Dalhousie
Women's Volunteer Coach of the Year:  Jodi Langley, StFX

The U SPORTS national championship is scheduled for March 7-9 at the University of Manitoba in Winnipeg.


Courtesy Krista McKenna, StFX Sports Information