X-Men football team hold year-end banquet

X-Men football team hold year-end banquet
The X-Men football team recently held their year-end awards banquet where head coach Gary Waterman and his coaching staff honored the achievements of several X-Men athletes from the 2012 season.

“The banquet gave us an opportunity to come together as a team to recognize our seniors who are moving on, our support staff, as well as all of the outstanding individual performances from our 2012 season,” commented Waterman.

“Once again, the team and coaching staff would like to thank all of the alumni and X-Men football fans for their continued support.”

Senior awards for graduating X-Men athletes were extended to the following:   

Name   Position   Hometown   Degree
Nate Annan   DT   St. Thomas, ON   BBA 4    
Andrew Complak   WR   Kingston, ON   BA 5    
Dominique Comtois   DB   Drummondville, QC   BA 4   
Kiely Hall   OL   Dundas, ON   BA 2   
Andrew  Hickey   WR   Fredericton, NB   BEd 2   
Dylan Hollohan   DB   Moncton, NB   Engineering 5   
Ryan Olsen   LB   Manchester, NH   BA HK 5   
Bryce Szela   DB   Burlington, ON   BBA 4   

The coaching staff recognized student managers Janelle Day and Shannon Crezel  for their contributions to the X-Men program, along with student therapists Sydney Hounsome, Laura McCloskey, Amy Pingitore and Angela Waller.   

Nine major awards were handed out, including the Most Improved Player award to third year fullback Josh Sears (Dartmouth, NS). 

Second year receiver Randy Roseway from Ottawa received the Special Teams Award, while graduating fifth year linebacker Ryan Olsen from Manchester, NH received the Johnny Pike Most Dedicated award.

The Joe Stewart Rookie of the Year award went to defensive back Hayden Peters, a native of Inverary, ON. Fourth year tailback Nate Annan was honored as the Phil Hughes Lineman of the Year.

Second year tailback Ashton Dickson from Ottawa was named the X-Men Offensive Most Valuable Player, while third year linebacker Brett Hubbeard from Peterborough, ON was honored as the X-Men Defensive Most Valuable Player.

Hubbeard also picked up the Don Loney Coaches Most Valuable Player award, while fifth year wide receiver Andrew Hickey from Fredericton, NB received the MacKinnon Team Most Valuable Player honor.