2006 X-Women Rugby
2006 X-Women Rugby
Class: 2006
Induction Class: 2018
Sport: Rugby

In 2006, the X-Women rugby team became the first female team at StFX University to win a national championship. This team was 5-0-1 in the AUS regular season and rucked their way to an AUS title over UPEI, sending them to the national championship. In the semi-finals, the X-Women defeated Western University 13-5 to earn a berth in the national final. StFX claimed the gold medal by beating the University of Guelph 10-5 to capture the history-making championship banner, and fostering a dynasty that has since produced four national medals and an additional four more national championship banners.

Team members include:  Kim Armstrong, Lindsay Beattie, Michelle Birks, Tamara Boiteau, Tanya Boiteau, Amanda Campbell, Caroline Cunningham, Malorie Dobbin, Kallie Doucette, Zoe Fielding, Laura Foreman, Mary Giles, Leslie Gurba, Ghislaine Landry, Michelle Lane, Hayley Legg, Elizabeth MacLellan, Courtney Malcom, Grace McIsaac, Monica Munro, Brittany Nicholson, Meghan Penner, Chelsey Penrice, Megan Pritchard, Julianne Purcell, Julia Robertson, Kirsten Sample, Kim Stockman, Jessica Tasker, Jill Trinacty, Ashley Ward, Brianne Welch, Jessica Wilson, Erica Young, Student Manager Vittoria Canale, Student Manager Mikayla Luchkow, Manager/Videographer Annette Duggan, Student Therapist Brettaine Deal-Porter, Student Therapist Kim Gillis, Assistant Coach Steve Clapperton, Assistant Coach Tara Sutherland, and Head Coach Mike Cavanagh.