1950-51 X-Men Hockey Team
1950-51 X-Men Hockey Team
Class: 1950-51
Induction Class: 2014
Sport: hockey

Considered to be one of the best hockey teams in the university’s illustrious hockey history, the 1950-51 X-Men hockey team had an outstanding season. With a record of 37 wins, 11 losses, and 2 ties in 50 games, they scored 317 goals, averaging over six goals per game. This awesome aggregation had 16 Cape Bretoners of the 19 total team members. The 1950-51 X-Men began a dynasty for StFX hockey as they went on to win 14 intercollegiate championships between 1950 and 1963. In Maritime play, StFX won nine championships in the 1950s. In 1950-51, the X-Men won the Maritime Intercollegiate title, became the first university team to win the Maritime senior title, and also won the A.P.C. senior hockey league. They went to the semifinals to the Allan Cup, and were given strong consideration to represent Canada in the 1952 Olympics in Oslo.  

It was a memorable year for the X-Men and is now a Hall of Fame honour for the following team members:  Phil Bowes, Luigi Centa, Bill Dixon, Howie Gardiner, Steve Hogan, George Kehoe, Duke MacDonald, Paul MacDonald, Joe MacEachern, Jackie MacLellan, Hugh MacMullin, Acky MacSween, John Markie, Ed Murrin, Geno Scattolon, Phil Sharkey, Eddie Swartzack, Eugene Swartzack, Mick Woodford, staff members Jackie McLean and Ray Toomey, and head coach Father Andy Hogan.