X-Women come second at AUS championship

Photo credit Nick Pearce
Photo credit Nick Pearce

Halifax, NS – The StFX X-Women ran to a second place finish Saturday afternoon at the Subway AUS Cross Country Championships hosted by Dalhousie University at Point Pleasant Park.

In the 8km race, the Dalhousie Tigers won the AUS championship banner as they claimed two individual medals and three of the top four finishers.

Dalhousie senior Michelle Reddy captured first-place honours with a time of 29:23.21.

Second-year Tiger Savanna Jordan (Calgary, Alta.) was the women's silver medallist, finishing with a time of 29:56.81.

Katie Robinson (Saint John, N.B.), a senior runner with the Acadia Axewomen, captured bronze with a time of 30:14.69.

Dalhousie's Sophia Watts finished fourth with a time of 30:36.83.

This marks Dalhousie's 25th AUS women's cross country banner win and their sixth consecutive year claiming the title. They finished with 37 team points.

The StFX X-Women earned a second-place team finish with four runners in the top 10. Hana Marmura (Antigonish, N.S.) finished sixth with a time of 30:51.85, Zoe Johnston (Pembroke, Ont.) came in eighth with a time of 31:08.10, Rachel MacDougall (Antigonish, N.S.) claimed ninth finishing in 31:13.43, and Jane Hergett (Port Williams, N.S.) rounded out the top 10, posting a time of 31:13.45.

The X-Women finished with a team score of 45.

The Acadia Axewomen claimed team bronze, with a team score of 74. They had two top 10 finishers—bronze medallist Robinson, and Madalyn Higgins (Halifax, N.S.) who finished seventh with a time of 31:03.37.

Moncton's Carol-Ann MacDonald (Irishtown, N.B.) finished in fifth place with a time of 30:43.43.

Moncton earned a fourth-place team finish with 144 points, closely followed by UNB in fifth with 146 points, Saint Mary's in sixth with 152, UPEI in seventh with 159 and St. Thomas in eighth with 231.

Rounding out the X-Women finishers were Paige Chisholm (Port Williams, NS) in 12th spot with a time of 31:24.96, Ashley Robson (Dartmouth, NS) in 14th at 31:48.98, and Catherine Thompson (Blenheim, ON) in 15th at 31:49.30.

A total of 56 runners competed in the conference championship race.

Subway AUS Cross Country Championship Results:

Following the races, participants attended an awards luncheon at the Four Points by Sheraton in Halifax. AUS all-star awards were presented to the top seven finishers, and individual medals, team medals and the AUS championship banners and trophies were handed out.

The AUS female athletes of the year was awarded to the individual AUS champion, Michelle Reddy (Sarnia, Ont.) from Dalhousie. Bhreagh Burke of the Saint Mary's Huskies who finished in 11th place overall was the AUS female rookie of the year.

UPEI's Emma Moore (Charlottetown, P.E.I.) was honoured as the AUS Student-Athlete Community Service award winner and Dalhousie's Rich Lehman was named AUS women's cross country coach of the year.

AUS all-star awards were presented to the top seven finishers in the race including the following.

Michelle Reddy, Dalhousie (5th year – Sarnia, Ont.)
Savanna Jordan, Dalhousie (2nd year – Calgary, Alta.)
Katie Robinson, Acadia (5th year – Saint John, N.B.)
Sophia Watts, Dalhousie (5th year – Halifax, N.S.)
Carol-Ann MacDonald, Moncton (3rd year – Irishtown, N.B.)
Hana Marmura, StFX (4th year – Antigonish, N.S.)
Madalyn Higgins, Acadia (3rd year – Halifax, N.S.) 

The U SPORTS national championship meet will take place Saturday, Nov. 10 at Queen's University in Kingston, Ont. 


The AUS men's cross country recap can be found be CLICKING HERE