2014 CIS National Champions

2014 CIS National Champions


The StFX University X-Women claimed the 2014 Monilex trophy with a 43-34 victory over McMaster in the CIS championship game. The win marked their fourth national title in team history, having previously won gold in 2012, 2010 and 2006. StFX also earned victories over Alberta (41-17) and Western (27-24) in pool play at the national event hosted by Guelph University.

CIS All-Canadian Emma Taylor, a fifth year lock with the X-Women, earned tournament all-star and tournament MVP honors, leading all scorers in the championship with seven tries. Second year flanker Brooke Newsome and third year hooker were also named to the tournament all-star team. 

The X-Women entered the CIS championship as 17-time defending AUS champions and are the only team to win the AUS title since the inception of the AUS women’s rugby league. This year they defeated the Acadia Axewomen 19-12 in a thrilling overtime victory in the AUS championship game in Wolfville, NS winning the Birks Memorial Trophy.

The CIS ranked No. 2 X-Women sported a 6-0 record in league play to finish first in the AUS conference, marking their 12th first place finish since the 2002 season (official inception of the AUS league). The 2014 StFX squad led the conference in points scored (404), tries scored (68), conversions (32) and allowed the fewest points against (34). In exhibition non-conference play, the X-Women were 8-1, including victories over McGill and Concordia.

StFX was led this season by eight AUS all-stars, including team co-captain Catherine MacKeigan. Veteran lock Emma Taylor was the conference most valuable player, leading the AUS in tries scored (10) and the team in points scored (60). She was named AUS tournament MVP for the second consecutive season. Co-captain Natalie Lesco, a third year center, was sidelined early in the season with a knee injury.

AUS rookie of the year Joanna Alphonso was an AUS all-star in the prop position, finishing fourth in team scoring. Also receiving AUS all-star designation were second year center Breanna Allison, fourth year scrum half Zahra Batool, second year flanker Brooke Newsome, second year center Jaelei Meyer and fourth year winger Danielle Robb.  

The X-Women are guided by two-time CIS coach of the year Mike Cavanagh, currently in his 16th season. Cavanagh is an eight-time AUS Coach of the Year, receiving the honor again this past season. Since 2002, Cavanagh's career record stands at 76-2-2 in regular season play and 115-27-5 overall (regular season, AUS & CIS playoffs). The X-Women were ranked in the CIS Top 10 every week this season, including two weeks in the No. 1 position.

StFX has a CIS championship record of 27-28-3 in 55 games played over the past 17 seasons with four gold medals (2014, 2012, 2010, and 2006), three silver medals (2011, 2009, 2008), four 4th place finishes, five 5th place finishes and one 6th place finish.

Championship Record:  3 wins and 0 losses
Round Robin: Defeated Alberta 41-17 and Western 27-24
Gold Medal Game: Defeated McMaster 43-34

CIS All-Canadian:  Emma Taylor
CIS Tournament All-Stars:  Brooke Newsome, Catharine MacKeigan, Emma Taylor
CIS Tournament MVP:  Emma Taylor
AUS Most Valuable Player:  Emma Taylor
AUS Rookie of the Year:  Joanna Alphonso
AUS Coach of the Year:  Mike Cavanagh
AUS All-Stars:  Breanna Allison, Joanna Alphonso, Zahra Batool, Brooke Newsome, Catharine MacKeigan, Jaelei Meyer, Danielle Robb and Emma Taylor

AUS Regular Season Record:  6 wins, 0 losses
AUS Regular Season Standing:  1st place, 12 points
AUS Playoff Record:  2 wins and 0 losses
Defeated Saint Mary’s 100-0 in AUS semifinal
Defeated Acadia 19-12 OT in AUS final