X-Women win first ever AUS curling championship banner

X-Women win first ever AUS curling championship banner

Truro, NS – The StFX X-Women are the 2017 Atlantic University Sport curling champions. The team won the Subway AUS championship banner with a 9-3 victory over Dalhousie in eight ends in the gold medal game played at the Truro Curling Club on Sunday.

Playing as a club sport under the Recreation department at StFX University, the curling squad bettered seven teams at the four-day championship to win the conference title.

The X-Women team, skipped by Emma Logan and coached by Carolyn Rose, also featured Lauren MacFadyen, Ashley Francis, Therese McCurdy and Sarah Snair.

They beat UNB by a close 5-4 margin in 10 ends in the semifinal match to advance to the final. UNB went on to defeat Mount Allison 8-3 to claim bronze.

StFX wrapped up round robin play with a 5-1 record in first place. Their only loss came Friday evening to UPEI in an extra end.

They had round robin victories over UNB (7-2), Saint Mary's (3-1), Memorial (6-5), Mount Allison (10-7) and Dalhousie (7-4)

With the championship victory, the team makes history at the university with the first ever AUS curling championship title. Atlantic University Sport began awarding championship banners two years ago with Dalhousie (2015-16) and Saint Mary's (2014-15) winning the previous women's titles.

The X-Women now advance to the U SPORTS national championship in Thunder Bay, Ont. hosted by Lakehead University from March 19-22 where they will be one of three teams representing the AUS conference.

Full results of the championship are available here.

In the AUS men's curling championship which also featured seven teams, the X-Men team consisting of skip Josh Henderson, David Quinn, Kyle Walker, Brandon McLellan and Tyson Collier, under the direction of coach Peter Beaton, finished the round robin with a 1-5 record in sixth place and did not advance to the playoff round.

Memorial were crowned AUS men's champions with a 10-5 victory over Dalhousie. UPEI won bronze with an 8-6 win over UNB.

The X-Men's round robin results were losses to Dalhousie (9-2), Saint Mary's (11-1), UNB (5-3), Memorial (10-3) and UPEI (11-3), along with a 6-5 victory over Acadia.